top of page
  • Writer's picturebarbedwirebetty

The "Ah-Ha" Moment

Have you ever had one of those moments where all of a sudden things seem to make sense? I've had a few of these recently. And they catch me off guard every time.



Here's an example: Most people know that I'm in a relationship. I have been for over a year. The Man of Discerning Taste came along at a time when I wasn't sure about falling in love. But we talked and slowly I found myself losing my heart. The battle was in the age difference, the vastly different fitness levels, and did I mention the age difference? I struggled with this, but, I knew I wanted this man. I found videos of different women on TikTok and had that "Ah-Ha" moment. One woman is plus-size and she's married to a very fit/buff man who worships her curves. There is another who is pregnant well past menopause. And several others who have husbands who are much younger than them. These were #1.

#2 happened one day while having a conversation with The Man of Discerning Taste. Normally, he's a very sweet, easygoing guy. That day I was pushing every button I could to see if he'd leave me. And all the message read was "Stop that". Very simple and to the point, but I realized that this man really was going to be here no matter what.

A few weeks ago, I lost my job. Before I left the parking lot, I had my part-time job lined up, but that didn't stop my mind from creating all sorts of scenarios and none of them positive. However, my mom has always been one to tell me, "You're there for a reason." A lesson or a blessing? Turns out that a job, much closer to home, was available...requiring the knowledge that I had gained at the job I despised more than any other! That was #3.

Then, last week, as I stood in the middle of a store, narrowly avoiding an anxiety attack, discovering a side of myself I didn't realize existed, moment #4 snuck in and hit me like a ton of bricks! I've been struggling with finding a job, knowing that it will only be a matter of time before I will need to leave it. Life is changing for me and in very big ways. When this moment hit, everything went crystal clear. I shared this epiphany with The Man of Discerning Taste who agreed that this may just be a great idea!

Once that epiphany hit, I had a virtual interview set up, had a conversation about a different job in another state, and had a phone interview with a third job.



I've always likened myself to Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz, following the yellow brick road to the next adventure. Some days, I feel like I'm lost on the path or that I've laid down in the field of poppies to nap. However, just lately, I feel like I've reached the point where I can see the Emerald City just over the next rise.

This has all opened up conversations that I didn't know I needed to have. With these conversations, new information is being added and I realize that the blessings really are coming down in showers. I may have gotten lost on the yellow brick road, but it was my own fault for not paying attention to the signs.

What are your "Ah-ha" moments? Have you had many in your life? Tell me about them! I love to hear other people's stories!








8 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page