top of page
  • Writer's picturebarbedwirebetty

An Eagle When She Flies...

A feather fell out of the sky and landed in my hair as I walked into work today. Normally, I'd brush it off and simply forget about it. But today…felt different. It felt like I needed to pay attention.

See, I have a full glass door in the store where I can see customers come and go. Lately, there's been one lone sparrow who will tap on the glass, flutter around, then fly away. I would laugh because I was certain that he was admiring himself in the shiny glass. Now, I'm not so certain.

I'm wondering if he wasn't trying to get my attention. So, I did a little research about feathers and sparrows, but this song keeps running through my head…"She's a sparrow when she's broken, but she's an eagle when she flies." (A song I first heard while sitting on the bedroom floor at my best friend's house.) Which led me to my mother's favorite verse…"They that wait upon the Lord will renew their strength. They shall mount up with wings as eagles. They will walk and not grow weary. They will run and not faint." (Isaiah 40:31)

And all of that leads to how anxious I've been lately. I feel like time isn't moving along quickly enough. My patience is worn out (what little I have) and I'm just ready to throw in the towel on certain situations.

Today, it seems as if God is throwing back the towel and saying, "You're not done yet, child. You've still got some fighting to do."

I know I'm not the only one who is struggling right now. Patience has never been one of my virtues and my faith is wavering on its best day.

A friend of mine posted about how belief and faith are two different animals. We can believe in something all we want, but until we take the steps to have faith, we just have knowledge. I've been working very hard to have faith in everything that is happening in my favor. Unfortunately, there are people who just don't want to see me succeed. So, I struggle to find the support I need.

After having several conversations with The Man of Discerning Taste, I'm finding my way again. There are people who don't understand the decisions that I'm making. However, within this struggle, I'm learning to rely on The Man more (which is essential to our relationship). I'm opening up to others more and finding my way through this moment of uncertainty. But I'm finding my faith Which is a very big deal for me. As I find the faith in myself, my relationship, and my life, I'm also finding my strength. And that is much more important than anything!

So, if you're having a tough time and struggling with life, please know that you're not alone. Things are going sideways everywhere, but you are majestic and awe-inspiring. Just as the bald eagles are. Breathtaking in every way! You are meant to soar above it all!




Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page