top of page
  • Writer's picturebarbedwirebetty

Kings Wear Crowns, Too

Let me address something I've been noticing across various social media platforms.


Why is it, that in an effort to lift ourselves and each other up, we think we need to grind our kings under our stilettos?


I am all about loving yourself, finding your voice, and seeing the beauty that lies within. What I'm tired of is that some of us choose to do this at the expense of men. As someone who is a pretty big fan of the men of this world, it pisses me off!

Sure there are dirtbags and assholes, hell, I was married to one and dated a few others, but I refuse to label them all that way. And as much as we want to be heard, there are a lot of male voices that are speaking out on our behalf. I've been seeing a lot of men, speaking up and adjusting the crowns of us queens

.

If you're unhappy and prefer the single life, cut your guy loose. Going into private groups on social media and bashing your guy may feel good in the moment, but imagine if he did that to you.


Now, I'm not talking about abusive relationships...that is an entirely different animal. The relationships I'm talking about are "I'd rather be single," or "My guy is such a loser," or (and this is one I hear more often than not) "The sex is better by myself than with my man."




If you're not communicating to your partner the feelings you're having, yet you're sharing these intimate relationship problems on social media...guess what...you're just as much to blame as anyone.


The man of distinguished taste and I believe that our relationship is for us and us alone. We don't share intimate details of our relationship with anyone...yes, even including Boo. We have seen what happens to relationships and marriages when couples begin to talk to other people instead of talking to each other.


We are both big fans of communication...with each other! However, I digress!





There is a group on FB that thrives on putting men down. They don't agree with male dominated relationships and find a million and one ways to make it sound like absolute Hell on Earth. Something they need to understand is that not every woman feels this way. Just as there is toxic masculinity, there is toxic feminism. This post will probably get more than a few hateful remarks and, quite frankly, I don't care.


As much as I focus on feminine lens writing, I hope men can relate as well. Life isn't easy for any of us and if you claim it is, you're lying. My mom was always a big fan of the old proverb, "Do unto others as you would have done to you." So, I ask you...would you rather your king grind you under his boot or raise you up and adjust your crown?


Me? I choose to be raised up and, in turn, my king will be raised up as well.


Kings have crowns, too. Kings stumble. Kings sometimes need a hand up from their Queen.

So, instead of kicking your King when he's down, offer him your hand and fix his crown.


Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page